Print Page   |   Sign In
South Dakota About Us
Share |

Building Strength Through Association


About Us

NASW-SD Mission


The mission of the National Association of Social Workers, South Dakota Chapter is:

·       To strengthen and unify the profession of Social Work within South Dakota

·       To develop, promote and protect the practice of Social Work in South Dakota

·       To advance sound and equitable social policy through advocacy for individuals, families, and communities

·       To support and participate in the mission and purposes of the National Association of Social Workers.




NASW is a membership organization with a dual mission to:


• Promote, develop, and protect the practice of social work and social workers; and

• Seek to enhance the effective functioning and well-being of individuals, families, and communities through its   work and through its advocacy.


Created in 1955 through a merger of seven social work organizations, the National Association of Social Workers is the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world. The Association is comprised of 135,000 members, who are required to agree to and sign the NASW Code of Ethics upon joining.


NASW’s 56 chapters consist of the following: 50 state chapters, an international chapter, and five additional chapters in Guam, New York City, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and Washington, D.C.



NASW-SD Chapter Leadership and Governance Information




Get involved today by emailing us at





Board of Directors



  •  Ashley Kienow, MSW, CSW, QMHP  -


  • Marlene Shulz -

Vice President 

  • Brooke Blaalid, MSW -


 Central Region Representative

  • Shelli Ness -

 Northeast Region Representative

  • Lisa Brown, MSW –

 Sioux Falls Region Representative

  • Crysta DeSmet, MSW, CSW-PIP-

 Sioux Falls Region Representative

  • Liz Larson -
Sioux Falls Region Representative

Southeast Region Representative

  •  Liz Rembold -

Western Region Representative

  •  Crystal McLeod - 

MSW Student Representative

  •  Diana Kautz Smallwood, MSW-S -

BSW Student Representative

  •  Isabella Gasca, BSW-S -

Nominations and Leadership Identification Committee-East River

  •  Michaela Gasca, MSW -

           Nominations and Leadership Identification Committee-East River

  •  Katherine Bice, BSW -

           Nominations and Leadership Identification Committee-West River

  •  Ashley Jensen, BSW -

Executive Director

  •  Terry Werner  -

           Administrative Assistant

  •  Kris Whisenhunt  - 





South Dakota Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers

Home     Contact Us    Edit NASW Member Profile    Email NASW-SD


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal